Best IFR ground school?

Seminole Pilot

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
fsudelt
I got my PPL 6 years ago and used King Schools at the time for ground. If I'm a visual person is that probably still best option now for IFR ground school? Also when I did my PPL I did ground first, passed test, then started flying. Do most stick with that routine for IFR training? I already have 50+ XC hours but I know I'll need I think it's 40 hours under the hood between practice and with an instructor? I've been putting this off for a few years and have decided it's time to suck it up and get it done! I'm thinking of getting into a larger plane (currently fly a 182 and looking at going to a 6 seater) and doing longer XC trips so in my mind having IFR is a nice safety valve for the longer trips.

Yep. I got the King’s school get it all kit and passed the written then went on to get the lessons. Did it in a G1000 C172. Anything more than that is overkill. I highly recommend the G1000 by the way. If you can find one with a GFC700 AutoPilot you will have a blast and feel like a 737 pilot while doing it.

I did PPL "Fly first -> written as a capstone."

I started IR "Written first (passed) -> go fly/learn it." Almost finished in 2 yrs but work got in the way. Still haven't retaken to written.

My advice is to wait before starting the clock. Take the written when you have around half the required training.

Thanks. I plan on knocking this out pretty fast if possible. Owning a business my work schedule is flexible. I got my PPL done in 2 months. Hoping to see if I could do IFR in a few months at most if possible. The current plane I fly is a 182 with 2 Garmin 430’s & a Garmin GMX200. There also is a auto pilot with heading & alt hold (older unit though- Century 2000).