BEST HANDHELD TRANSCEIVER

MtnMarcus

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
PropWash
I am a student pilot hoping to have my PPL by years end looking for a good handheld transceiver. What is a good brand that I can plan on having for awhile, and what options/features should I be looking for? Thanks

Icom is good. As for features, get one with a built in VOR, transponder, GPS and ADF.

Get one that runs on AA batteries, unless you know you'll keep it charged. Otherwise, when you need it the battery will likely be dead and you won't have a spare.

In any case, if you don't go with the AA battery route get one powered by a lithium ion battery. My ICOM has a Nicad and those don't last very long. I'm sure the new ICOM's have lithium ion batteries in them.

(I was joking about integrated GPS, ADF and transponder. But some do have a Nav VOR function on them. Mine does, and it was cool to play with it at first but I've never actually used it in the air and probably never will.)

Get one that runs on AA batteries, unless you know you'll keep it charged. Otherwise, when you need it the battery will likely be dead and you won't have a spare.

I have an older ICOM on its third battery. It's that old. A22
I replaced the original NiCD when it died, with NiMH and was able to increase the original 1200mAh to 2000mAH.

I use it every weekend, so it gets charger time every Friday night.
I also have the AA battery case, loaded and ready to go in my flight bag.
I've found that the AA battery pack will only last about one day in regular use.

We have the newer ICOM A6 in the club, NiMH and LiON battery packs.

Icom or vertex. I've had my vertex for about a year now, it's the new nav/com one, the rechargeable batt, magnesum body, submersible and made in Japan aspects were what sold me, it also picks up NOAA weather and am/fm radio stations.

One word of advise the nav feature is somewhere between gimmick and emergency only use, in terms of usability.