Been around these forums for a bit...

Darsh

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Darsh
Figured I'd introduce myself properly.

My name is Dan, and I live in Palatine, IL. I am currently a student at Southern Illinois University studying Aviation Flight, and am a member of the Phi Sigma Kappa fraternity which is founded on the three principles of Brotherhood, Scholarship, and Character. I got my PPL ASEL on June 8th, 2011 and have gotten the opportunity to exercise my privileges quite often this summer renting N504FA from Windy City Flyers. I have roughly 70 hours under my belt.
I have flown only Cessna 150/152's and 4FA which is a 172SP and I must say, I was wowed on the difference between the two aircraft. My goal in aviation is to by a pilot for the US Navy or Coast Guard, depending if I decide I want to fly helicopters or not. If I go the helo route, I'd go CG just because I'd be more likely to be assigned that.
I just wanna say thanks in advanced for all the help, and for having a great place for us pilots to congregate and communicate!

Cheers!
Dan

Last edited:
My goal in aviation is to by a pilot for the US Navy or Coast Guard, depending if I decide I want to fly helicopters or not. If I go the helo route, I'd go CG just because I'd be more likely to be assigned that.

Welcome aboard!

FWIW, if you WANT helos, your chances for picking up rotary wing in the Navy are pretty good. We have a LOT of helos. The bigger problem is that we get alot of guys who want to be jet jocks, but because of the needs of the Navy end up in rotary wing. I know alot of those guys. Conversely, I have never met a brown shoe who wanted to fly helos but got sent to jets.

There are advantages and disadvantages to both the Great Grey Funnel Line and Uncle Sam's Confused Group. Definitely do some research on quality of life and career opportunities before you decide.

Welcome aboard!