Becoming Canadian [NA]

Mtns2Skies

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Mtns2Skies
Perhaps not the best forum for this, and I know this is pilots of 'America' but I was wondering if anyone has insight into finding jobs and the paperwork involved in becoming a dual citizen.

I'm a mechanical engineering student, and upon my graduation I'd be looking for some aeronautical engineering jobs in the Vancouver BC area.

How are US engineers regarded in Canada?

Would any companies be willing to go through the paperwork to get a non-citizen employed?

What paperwork would I need, and in what timeline in regards to moving there?

Is there any paperwork necessary PRIOR to applying for jobs?

Thanks in advance!

Start saving your pennies if you want to live there. It's perhaps the most expensive city in North America. It's beautiful, though.

Hopefully you don't smoke or drink,they have the highest sin tax. I've seen in awhile.

Do you mean actually citizenship, or a work visa? As far as I know it's not difficult to get a work visa, unless you plan on immigrating for some reason.

Keep in mind that the U.S. does not recognize dual citizenship. It's rarely enforced, but technically you could be required to renounce one of your citizenships if discovered by the State Department, or have your U.S. citizenship stripped. This is how a lot of American mercenaries became, well, expats back when joining foreign legions was popular.

Do you mean actually citizenship, or a work visa? As far as I know it's not difficult to get a work visa, unless you plan on immigrating for some reason.

I was thinking if I work there and live there might as well get citizenship. I thought you only had to renounce if you serve in another country's military?