BasicMed issued!

Discussion in 'Medical Topics' started by gkainz, Dec 18, 2017.

  1. gkainz

    gkainz Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,464
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Kainz
    Ok, so I assume I have a valid BasicMed medical certificate now. I hold in my hand my "Medical Self-Assessment Course Completion Certificate", after completing a physical with my GP and completing the on-line course.

    Anyone know how long it takes the FAA Airman database to be updated to reflect this?

    Nice change from an expensive paperwork drill annually with my AME and a biennial physical (geezer with an SI) to a 4 year FREE (my insurance covers physicals at no charge) exam, including followup discussions on the other general, minor health issues he and I have been working on for a while.
     
    Rushie, Radar Contact and Palmpilot like this.
  2. murphey

    murphey Final Approach

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7,494
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Maybe a day. Mine's listed now, issued 12/4/17, saw the doc & did the paperwork that day.
     
  3. gkainz

    gkainz Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,464
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Kainz
    Good to know - thanks. Mine was Friday (12/15) and doesn't reflect on FAA yet. So, maybe "a day or 2? and weekends don't count?" :)
     
  4. steingar

    steingar Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    24,384
    Location:
    Land of Savages
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    steingar
    Congrats. I'm tempted, though I'd have to give up dreaming about flying to Canada and South America.
     
  5. murphey

    murphey Final Approach

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7,494
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    You can always get a 3rd class as well as basic med.
     
  6. azure

    azure Final Approach

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7,040
    Location:
    Vermont
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    azure
    Sure, but... umm, what would be the point of the basic med then?
     
  7. Brad Z

    Brad Z En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,379
    Location:
    Alexandria VA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brad Z
    It's updated now. It usually happens a business day or two after completing the course.
     
  8. gkainz

    gkainz Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,464
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Kainz
    And so it is! Thanks! :)
     
  9. murphey

    murphey Final Approach

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7,494
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    But that isn't the issue - flying outside the US is the issue. I'm betting that in the near future Canada will accept BasicMed but I have nothing to base that opinion on. I'll be in Europe next year and have contacted a number of flight schools about rentals - most are not aware of BasicMed and have said they'll investigate. Of course if I take a CFI along, it's irrelevant whether BasicMed or X Class is needed.
     
  10. gkainz

    gkainz Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,464
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Kainz
    uh-oh ... the above comments reminded me that I promised my wife I would look into taking her to Italy some time in the future for an art retreat. Just so happens that said retreat is very near Lake Como and I would love to get my seaplane rating ... hmmm .... I may have just tripped up (on the other hand - a WHOLE lot cheaper to accomplish that in the US ... except for that pesky retreat I promised ...)
     
  11. murphey

    murphey Final Approach

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7,494
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    There's no reason not to get the 3rd class a few weeks before you head to Italy.
     
  12. gkainz

    gkainz Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,464
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Kainz
    any idea of the extra hoops of re-enstating a 3rd class with SI after some time on BasicMed?
     
  13. murphey

    murphey Final Approach

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7,494
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    According to a local AME and the Super AME who often visits here, aint no big deal. It's a 3rd class, same as always. However, I don't know if you can continue the Previously Reported option on question 18. Which ismthe real kicker, isn't it?
     
  14. bflynn

    bflynn En-Route

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,713
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian Flynn
    Same hoops as if you had not held any medical during that time. BasicMed is another way of meeting the medical requirements, but it has no bearing on 3rd class. Answer all the questions like you did before.
     
  15. Brad Z

    Brad Z En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,379
    Location:
    Alexandria VA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brad Z
    Yep, BasicMed is an alternative to the 3rd class medical; it's not a 4th class. If you want a 3rd class medical later, get a 3rd class when the need arises. Just understand that if you're denied a medical, you cannot operate under BasicMed.
     
  16. gkainz

    gkainz Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,464
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Kainz
    good points, all. So yeah, it's not reinstating a 3rd class medical - it's applying for a new medical. Or, is it? The 3rd class status is EXPIRED ... and just depends on when one might need/want another 3rd class medical again as to how long it's been expired. But, holding a BasicMed during that period shouldn't change the status of the 3rd class. In fact, the FAA airman's database results reenforce that concept, as they show my 3rd class as Expired as of 11/30/2017, and Basic Med as Yes, yep, all good, in place and effective ... :)

    So, about the "Previously Reported" ... maybe ... maybe not? I would think PRNC "should" work just like any other 3rd renewal.

    But as Brad noted ... there "is" a risk involved. But, as Dr. Bruce says "don't ask the question if you're not SURE of the answer" (paraphrased)
     
  17. Brad Z

    Brad Z En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,379
    Location:
    Alexandria VA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brad Z
    There is no reinstating a medical; every time you apply for a medical certificate,it's a new certificate. You can use PRNC if you have in fact reported it on a FAA medical application. If you only reported it to your state-licensed physician during a BasicMed examination, you haven't reported it to the FAA and will need to do so on your next Medxpress application. Remember, the FAA never routinely sees the BasicMed 8700-2 Comprehensive Medical Examination Checklist...only you and your doctor see it.

    Your BasicMed status has ZERO bearing on your medical certification status. Aside from the date showing up on your airman record, the FAA medical folks have no idea what you're doing BasicMed-wise. Like I said, it's just between you and your doc.
     
  18. gkainz

    gkainz Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,464
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Kainz
    right (not gonna quote - feeling lazy) ... re: PRNC, I was referring to 3rd class process only. Well aware (and a little "huh?") when I double/triple checked the requirements when the doc handed me the checklist back and I read to "stuff it in my logbook and carry on" :) no, not carry on the logbook, just "carry on!" :)
     
  19. azure

    azure Final Approach

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7,040
    Location:
    Vermont
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    azure
    Exactly. But I still say, if you can get (or can afford the tests the FAA requires for you to be deemed eligible for) a X class, then why bother with Basic Med? What does Basic Med give you that you don't already have with the X class?

    Sure, you can get the X class and then go Basic Med when that expires, but in that case, I would wait until the X class is ready to expire to do the Basic Med exam, since then whatever I spend on it would extend my flying privileges for that much longer.
     
  20. NoHeat

    NoHeat En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,420
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    17
    To get started with BasicMed, which should one do first, the physical or the course?
     
  21. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14,300
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    In order to complete the course, you have to enter the license number of the physician who signed you off. Whether you can start the course first and then come back to it after you get signed off, I don't know.

    The course doesn't take very long, so I don't see any reason not to wait until after the exam.
     
  22. Brad Z

    Brad Z En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,379
    Location:
    Alexandria VA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brad Z
    You can start the course first, but you can't print off the completion certificate until you enter the physicians name, license number, exam date, etc. So do the examination with the doc first, then do the course.
     
  23. gkainz

    gkainz Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,464
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Kainz
    I finished the course first, then hit the "date of exam" and all the doc's information a few days before my exam, so got stopped there. After the exam, I logged back into AOPA basicmed area and it had saved my results, so lucked out and didn't have to take it again. (it's not hard, tho).