Bailed because of frost -- a good call?

roddie

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
roddie
I'm a student pilot (37 hours) practicing for my checkride and trying to get myself up to 40. Since the time-change, I've been having to get out to the airport in the mornings before work; usually 6:30 AM or so.

This morning was the first time I've had to actually make a "no go" decision because of something beyond VFR vs. IMC.

Today on the way to the field, the METAR was:

Code:
KTKI 131153Z AUTO 00000KT 5SM HZ CLR M02/M06 A3049 RMK A02 SLP340 T10221056 10017 21022 53000 FZRAN

IMG_20121113_063631a.jpg

I got to the plane, a C152, and found it covered in frost -- The windshield, wings, body, and tail. The Sun was just coming up, so I figured I would do my pre-flight and hope that the rising Sun would quickly melt the frost. I even started the plane up hoping that would get things going. After an hour, not much had changed, and since I actually have to work to pay for this expensive hobby, I bailed.

Back at it tomorrow!

Yes, you made a good call. You should not take off with frost on any of the exposed surfaces of the aircraft, especially lifting and control surfaces.

It doesn't have to be below freezing on the ground to form frost, and in sunlight, it doesn't have to be above freezing to melt it. This time of year, schedule your flights hours well after sunrise, or use a hangar, unless the forecast is for a dewpoint well below the overnight low temperature.

Can you go after work? At lunch hour? Weekends?

I spent my share of mornings at the airport waiting for frost to melt when I was a student. I found that, locally, 10AM worked in fall and winter. Maybe 9:30. But usually not earlier. Your answer is going to be a bit different.

Expect questions about this on your oral.