Bad headaches

U

Unregistered

A while back, I had a problem with my right eye twitching, very often. It got really, really bad, but I pushed through it, and the twitching went away.

Now, I've been noticing a lot of pain from behind the eye, like a headache, but it comes and lasts a few days and then goes away.

So I have 2 questions: 1) Is this a true migraine headache? and 2) If I get treated, will I lose my medical?

search "cluster headaches". Another form of serious headach.

I've not heard of migraine headaches being a grounding issue. I've had them occasionally for years. Not a problem. If they are debilitating and you need constant meds to control it that could be an issue.

Get checked out regardless. Don't have to go to the AME with this at first. Regular doc. Rule out the serious scary stuff.

Matt Michael (I'm not a real doctor)

I agree with Matt. Your health is more important than your medical. I've watched too much House to take it cavalierly!

There are actually 2 additional points I should add:

I drink a LOT of caffeine, and the headaches get much less intense when I'm in the middle of a bunch of caffeine. I also was struck pretty hard a little less than a year ago in the head (no details, as it gives away my identity very easily), and that is about the time that the twitching stopped. The headaches did not start until about 2 months ago, and I'm certain that they're unrelated to the headshot.

I ask about the medical because I know I'm safe to fly as I can tell when the headache is coming and I can avoid flying for a few days before/after it happens, and I'd rather not disqualify myself over something stupid like a headache.

For what its worth, my teeth are not in very healthy shape either and I've heard rumors that an infection in the tooth root can cause this kind of headache too....any truth to that?