BA jet lands short at Heathrow

Since the structural member surrounding the gear is pretty much wet with fuel.....there would have to be some kind of breech of fuel...No?

See, THAT'S what I don't know for sure. I don't know how the wing tank in that area is constructed. I do know that the gear is mounted to a couple of spars in the wing, but I DON'T know if the fuel tank is attached to the spar.

In the E-3 aka 707, the main gear are mounted to a wing spar. On the outboard side of that spar is our no.2 main fuel tank on the left wing and no.3 main on the left. I'm an engineer by title only, not by education, but I think that if we managed to shove the mains through the wing, some significant damage would be done to said tanks.

Speculation (and that's all it is at this point) by a NW A-340 FO I was flying with last night...

I guess he or she would be the very first of these? :D

(Or maybe it's A330?)

The left gear leg went through the wing...I think leaking fuel was inevitable.:yes::dunno:
Leaking fuel requires the presence of said fuel. So it wouldn't be inevitable were there no fuel aboard. Hence, significant quantities of fuel leaking prove that there was fuel aboard. It does not, of course, mean that said fuel was in a tank that could provide fuel directly to the engines.

That said, the wat the accident report was written does not lead me to suspect fuel starvation, though I'm not ruling it out at this point.

Leaking fuel requires the presence of said fuel. So it wouldn't be inevitable were there no fuel aboard. Hence, significant quantities of fuel leaking prove that there was fuel aboard. It does not, of course, mean that said fuel was in a tank that could provide fuel directly to the engines.

That said, the wat the accident report was written does not lead me to suspect fuel starvation, though I'm not ruling it out at this point.