Avidyne IFD440 and 540... who has one?

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by AggieMike88, Jan 1, 2018.

  1. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13,282
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    Anyone have the Avidyne IFD 440 or 540/550 on your panel?

    I'm interested in what you have to say about it now that you've had it a while.
     
  2. Cruiser

    Cruiser Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cruiser
    Great units
    The combination knob, touch an keyboard input is great
    Wireless flight plan transfer and full function iPad app gives complete remote control and a huge display
     
  3. AdamZ

    AdamZ Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,421
    Location:
    Montgomery County PA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Adam Zucker
    We have an IFD 540 combined with an AXP340 and an MLB100 for full ADS-B in and out. We are very happy with the 540. A bit of a learning curve if you have flown garmins but not a big deal.
     
  4. toddsanderson

    toddsanderson Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    237
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Todd Sanderson
    Have dual IFD 440s. Overall very nice - especially the automatic keyboard function using both displays. I have always had Garmin in the past, but starting to like the Avidyne as well. Also have the DFC 90, 240 audio panel and 340 transponder. Seems like good equipment.

    My #2 IFD is having a "Transmit failure" error every time I try to key the mic. I guess it will have to go in for warranty.
     
  5. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13,282
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    Do you use the synth vision that the recent software update provides? How about the iPad app?
     
  6. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13,282
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    How has support for the product been from the factory and local techs?
     
  7. jkgoblue

    jkgoblue Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Sands Point, NY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    John K.
    Do they talk with Foreflight?
     
  8. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13,282
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
  9. SCCutler

    SCCutler Administrator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    16,088
    Location:
    Dallas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Spike Cutler
    I have a 440, love it.

    Learning curve after 12 years of 430-ing, but very pleased.
     
  10. Cruiser

    Cruiser Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cruiser
    You don't need to...... The Avidyne iPad app does everything the panel unit does. You can load the flight plan, change the layout and switch COM or VOR freq from the tablet

    On my last flight I had my passenger in the back seat controlling the radio
     
  11. GBSoren

    GBSoren Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GBSoren
    I just did the 430 to 440 upgrade deal. I got ~$6500 for my 430W. My IFD440 is arriving tomorrow, so I plan on doing the "slide in replacement" tomorrow afternoon. We'll see how that goes. They say it's fully compatible with my G5 and GTX345.

    One thing I've learned is they use Jep nav, terrain and charts, sounds like it can be a little costly. They do have a deal with Jep, one subscription covers up to 4 boxes, 2 nav/com and a couple mobile devices, but only if ordering the full nav/terrain/chart combo the way it sounds.

    Anyway, I'll find out more after getting mine installed, excited to try the 440 paired to ipad, turns 1 box into a box and huge panel.
     
    MIFlyer likes this.
  12. Briar Rabbit

    Briar Rabbit Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Albion, Nebraska
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rob
    All things considered we have been happy with the 540 but not without some issues. We had a transmit failure that got me in hot water with Minneapolis center. Avidyne replaced the 540. FAA determined in the end that I handled it properly but was a hassle at the time. Then our traffic on the ADSB in did not work properly and had to have a component replaced. Support by Avidyne was good. I want to link up my I-Pad to it, to accomplish this you do have to purchase the Jeppesen package and keep it current which is pretty pricey. So did that but still do not have the I-Pad in sync with it. Personnel changes at the FBO the reason it has not been done yet. Wondering if using the ForeFlight system to sync them up will be better than Avidyne and if anyone cares to share their experience comparing the two I will appreciate it! Seems like every time the FBO works on it they mess with the squelch controls, and the co-pilots squelch control affects the pilots ability to hear any transmission if not set right for some reason. This has also led to major frustrations during flight following until I made the connection. Threatening to send Guido into the FBO next time they touch my settings ( have a CFII giving me instrument reviews that was duly informed not to touch also). Currently have an issue with a post light on an engine gage making an intermittent connection and when it blinks for some reason the auto dimming system on the 540 resets and it goes full bright, not cool when you are on close final. The light or lack of is not hitting the dim switch control so must be an electrical flow change doing it? Scheduled to get this fixed next week. It is a lot easier to use than a 530 though.
     
  13. Cruiser

    Cruiser Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cruiser
    The 440 doesn't use the charts
    All you need is the nav. It is a little more than Garmin sub but not much
     
  14. GBSoren

    GBSoren Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GBSoren
    From what I understand the only way to get the bundled price for all you IFD's (in my case the 440 and IFD100) is if the account includes charts. I know the 440 doesn't support charts, but does the IFD100?

    In any case it sounds like you're better off doing just the nav data, and paying an extra "add on" for the IFD100.
     
  15. SCCutler

    SCCutler Administrator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    16,088
    Location:
    Dallas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Spike Cutler
    If you have the nav data subscription for the IFD440, the nav data for the IFD100 is included at no added cost. The IFD100 App is no cost.

    It works very well, too!
     
  16. NordicDave

    NordicDave Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    Isn't there an issue displaying Nav frequencies on the 440? I believe Nav frequencies are not displayed without extra button pushing.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2018
  17. SCCutler

    SCCutler Administrator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    16,088
    Location:
    Dallas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Spike Cutler
    The NAV frequencies (active and standby) are not normally displayed. If you press the tuning knob (left knob), the NAV frequencies will be displayed and can be changed, and then the display will revert back to the COM frequencies after a few seconds.

    If you're running the IFD100 app, you'll see the NAV freqs there all the time, and can change them there as well.

    It is a difference from the 430 which preceded, but not a problem (to me).
     
  18. GBSoren

    GBSoren Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GBSoren
    Thanks for clarifying. I installed the 440 yesterday, everything went pretty well. I have a couple config questions for avidyne tech support so I plan on finishing it up this afternoon.

    I also have to enable the wifi and bluetooth yet, they ship disabled but they send you a file that you put on a usb drive that enables them.
     
  19. GBSoren

    GBSoren Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GBSoren
    So I got the 430w to IFD440 "plug and play" swap out done and configured....kind of. I needed some help from Avidyne tech support, which I have to say was very good. I have a Garmin GTX345 and a Garmin G5 that complicated it somewhat. It isn't quite "plug and play" with the GTX345, I won't have ADS-B weather on the 440 unless I take it to an avionics installer and have another wire ran from the 440 to the 345. I never used weather on my 430, or traffic for that matter, because I have the 345 bluetoothed to my tablet running Garmin Pilot and got my ADS-B traffic and weather on that. The 430, and the 440 have to small a screen to use for that IMO.

    I plan of flying this weekend so I'll find out then if all is working as it's supposed to.
     
  20. GBSoren

    GBSoren Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GBSoren
    Thought I'd give an update on my IFD440 install now that I've had the chance to fly with it a couple of times.

    The install itself went pretty well, I took pictures of every config page from my 430W so I always had them to fall back on if needed. I had a few pages that I needed to call Avidyne support on, they don't always have the same options, at least worded the same, on some of the config drop down menus. Avidyne support is very helpful, they actually have a dedicated support person for each area of the country so you get that person's direct line.

    After getting it all configured I didn't fly until Friday, everything worked EXCEPT no ADS-b, nothing on the 440 or my tablets running Garmin Pilot. So I emailed support, and included all the pictures on my 430W screens for reference. I got an email back, they thought I had to make one change in the 440 setup, I did that and flew again today. Still no ADS-b, emailed support and asked if they'd call. He called me right away, went over the config pictures while on the phone with me and thought it seemed to be set up correctly. We then moved on to the setup of the GTX345, turns out that was where the problem was. Made a couple of changes in the setup of the GTX345, flew it again and it now works! Have ADS-b traffic on the IFD440, and ADS-b traffic and weather on my tablet.

    Shot a couple of approaches, both an Rnav and an ILS, both worked perfectly. Love the syn vision too.

    Today, when I got home from the airport I had a package from Avidyne, a bluetooth keyboard! One more thing to set up, but I'm sure it'll be handy.
     
  21. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13,282
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    Do the IFD’s communicate with the Garmkn G5’s?
     
  22. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13,282
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    Thanks for this. You answered one question which was compatibility with the GTX345. That helps.

    Photos during different flight phases would be nice, if able.

    On the BT keyboard, there are some good YT videos explaining how to pair this with your IFD’s
     
  23. GBSoren

    GBSoren Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GBSoren
    Yes, I have 1 G5 and it's position source was my 430W, now it's the IFD440. No issues.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018
  24. GBSoren

    GBSoren Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GBSoren
    Yes, it is compatible with the GTX345(and according to Avidyne an approved GPS source), it takes getting the configuration correct, gut it works fine now. One thing you won't have unless you run an additional wire though is ADS-b weather on the IFD440. Like I said in an earlier post, the 440 screen is to small for weather IMO anyway, so I may not every get that wired.

    When I have time to get back up I'll try to get some pix for you.

    Yes, I've watched some of them already, but thanks.