Autopilot question

mwkramer

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
MikeK
Hi first post here. I'm a low hour pilot just 115 hours or so and only hour 5 with the KAP 140 w/Alt in this 182.

On a recent flight from KLXT to KCID I got to altitude straight and level and on course. I engaged the KAP 140 in nav (its coupled to a Garmin 750) mode with alt holding. After twenty minutes of normal flight we begin a slow right hand turn. I kill the ap and put us back on course and start the ap again. No problems for a few minutes then it drifts slow to the left then slow to the right back on course. Another ten minutes goes by and it starts the drift to right again. This time it doesn't stop and I let it go to see what its up to. After we where off course by 20 miles I reset it again and put us back on course. In two subsequent flights I had similar issues and resolved by manually resetting and voila everything worked out in the end.

Any ideas whats going on? Is this just normal KAP 140 wonkyness?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Are you sure it was the KAP 140? Not the G750? Want to make sure the autopilot is getting the right instructions.

I used to fly with a KAP 140, did not have any real trouble. When flying though turbulence I always kept it off.
I used it only on long trips, when I'd be flying straight and level for about an hour. Sometimes I remember it had trouble keeping altitude, I'd have to tell it to climb or decent 200ft. So I can not say that it always worked perfect, but it did work.

Doesn't sound right.

Troubleshooting - does it behave the same way in HDG mode (which would indicate a problem with the output of the autopilot or servos if it does, and a problem with the input side if it doesn't).