Aspen discount

I'd get a Garmin G500TXi for the same price, better reliability. These guys have a lot of work to do catch-up unfortunately.

Well FWIW my avionics tech tells me the G500 is a lot more work (read time & $) to install, and he has Aspens installed in 15 Twin Otters on floats in the Maldives (e.g. salt water) and zero failures after 5 years. YMMV

I've not heard many good things about Aspen support (but I have no direct experience with them). Also, there's a popular youtuber out there with a video of what appears to be a full Aspen failure due to pitot icing. Everything including attitude reference went Tango Uniform. Pitot heat and a reboot of the Aspen cleared the failure. Hopefully I'm not slandering Aspen here, but it seems like a very bad failure mode for what should have just been a loss of airspeed indication. Take a look for yourself and see what you think.

I have the aspen pro nice to see their giving away synthetic vision,and ADSB unlock. To bad they won’t do that for previous owners. Was looking to update,but they’re not very competitive.

I've not heard many good things about Aspen support (but I have no direct experience with them). Also, there's a popular youtuber out there with a video of what appears to be a full Aspen failure due to pitot icing. Everything including attitude reference went Tango Uniform. Pitot heat and a reboot of the Aspen cleared the failure. Hopefully I'm not slandering Aspen here, but it seems like a very bad failure mode for what should have just been a loss of airspeed indication. Take a look for yourself and see what you think.

That.

This is why I consider a aspen a downgrade from a traditional old school sixpack, only thing it's really good for is looking fancy on the ramp so you can impress your friends who don't know what there looking at.

Still amazes me that the FAA certified that thing with that deadly failure mode.

image.jpg