ASDE & squat switches

Discussion in 'Maintenance Bay' started by Let'sgoflying!, Nov 26, 2017.

  1. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,768
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    "ASDE-X in use. Operate transponders with altitude reporting mode and ADS-B enabled on all airport surfaces"

    Airplane has a transponder that was wired (at the factory) to shut off upon touchdown.

    Any real-life conflict or no concern? Advise ground or no?

    (not a hypothetical Q)
     
  2. Radar Contact

    Radar Contact Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,300
    Location:
    Illinois
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kevin
    Potentially. They won't be able to see you on their video game screen in the tower. If the vis is good they may be forced to stand up and look out the window :yikes:

    There are a couple safety benefits of ASDE-X (i.e. you accidentally cross an active runway with an aircraft landing or departing...the tower gets an alert and they send around/cancel take-off).

    If you can't override and turn it on then yes, I would tell ground at those airports that it effects.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  3. SEMOAV

    SEMOAV Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Poplar Bluff, MO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SEMOAV
    I would see about having the switch disabled. It would be best to have it on all the time. Unless of course you are running drugs. Then you want to find a way to shut it off when you want such as a cockpit toggle. But for safety having it on all the time is best.
     
  4. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,332
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Really no need to have those. I'd think it would be easy to disable. It would probably just be 'hot wiring' the circuit closed.
     
  5. Brad Z

    Brad Z En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,513
    Location:
    Alexandria VA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brad Z
    Antiquated feature that should be removed. Should be easy to bypass as others mentioned.
     
  6. Velocity173

    Velocity173 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    9,585
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Velocity173
    If the airport has ASDE-X then yes, you should notify them that your transponder doesn't work on the ground.

    For airports that don't have it, it's no big deal if your transponder is on standby on the ground. They're not using their radar to track your position on the ground. The older analog SSR with mode 3 A/C Xponders, you actually get a problem called "ring around" if too many targets are squawking in one area but I think that's rare these days. Just have it on just prior to taking the runway so ATC (if capable) can verify your mode C.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2017