AOPA Life Insurance is a joke!

orange

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Orange
When I started training last year, I looked into my life insurance policy that I have through work. I don't know who the provider is, possibly Hartford. It has an exclusion for general aviation (pilot or passenger). Little about me: I'm just under 40 years old, work on wall Street (I make a good salary), and I have a wife and 4 kids that I want to make sure are provided for if something tragic were to happen to me.

About 2 months ago, I applied for the AOPA life insurance (20 year term). THE ONLY REASON THAT I DID WAS TO COVER ME FOR AN AVIATION RELATED DEATH. During the phone interview, he took all my info and we covered the aviation questions, etc. He quoted me about $35/mo for $250k. They scheduled a nurse to come to my house to draw blood, weight, height, measurements, and do a full interview. It happened, and they requested my medical records and sent me an aviation questionnaire which I answered truthfully (student pilot, 100 hours, planning to fly about 60-80 hours/year, etc). After 2 months, they finally issued my policy. I looked it over and didn't see anything about aviation. And the policy premium total was in the low $200's, almost half of what they quoted me. They don't usually lower the price. I knew something was up. I called the 800 number and the rep told me that it's just a standard non-tobacco policy (not including aviation). What a bunch of idiots!!!!

So she said that she spoke to the underwriter and they would re-issue the policy to include aviation. Nothing for a week. Now, I got a letter today saying that unfortunately, they are not able to issue policy as requested, for the reason below: AVIATION. :rofl: I got denied AOPA life Insurance because I expected it to cover aviation.