Any reason not to get a Stratux?

Bonchie

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Bonchie
I use Fltplan, which works with it and Stratus doesn't.

I'm really just wanting the weather and in flight metars/tafs. But, my knowledge of the various ADSB-in portables is limited. Obviously, the Stratus stuff is way more expensive. But if I just want weather, is there any reason I shouldn't just cheap out and get a Stratux?

There is lots of used gear appearing as people equip with ADSB and don't need it any more...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It's a cheap way to go, but isn't foolproof. See both: Airspace puck, and also think about typical antenna placement.

I've got some decent RF background and use better antennas than the stock ones and have them placed fairly well for not being outside the fuselage, and have seen and had traffic called that wasn't being displayed.

Mine works kinda. I don't ever trust it 100%.

I love mine, it's semi-installed, GPS puck sticky taped in a back side window, Antenna connected to an unused transponder stub, power from a usb battery brick (over 10 hours run time). I plug it in during my preflight and unplug it when I'm putting the plane away.
It doesn't catch all the traffic, but not any less than the Stratus2.

Just remeber the "radar" stuff is stale weather and can be more misinformation then information if you're using it for close range tactical decisions.