Any place to go to understand ATC to pilot talk?

Legiox

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
RatherBflying
Hey guys. I'm about to begin my stage 2 checkride next Tuesday. I have my solo cross country coming up after that and alittle nervous about talking with ATC at controlled airports.
So my question is: Is there any reference online or any type of online radio i can listen to, to get use to the fast talking ATC controllers use and the jargon they use for approach and departure comms. (even though i state to them I'm a student pilot..haha).

liveatc.net

And have fun!

Or get a handheld transceiver (you'll be wanting one anyway) and listen to your local approach frequencies. You get used to it over time.

Thanks guys. I'm in Law Enforcement right now and looking at joining up our Helicopter unit sometime this year and hopefully make a career out of it. I thought i would be comfortable with talking on comms since i have been doing so for going on 5 years. Man i was wrong. Sometimes i look at my Instructor and ask.... what the heck did they just say?

LOL
thanks again!!

Thanks for showing me the "say again" book. Just placed a order at Amazon. Should come in next week. Be great to read before my 1st solo cross country. Thanks again guys!!! Big help

Thanks for showing me the "say again" book. Just placed a order at Amazon. Should come in next week. Be great to read before my 1st solo cross country. Thanks again guys!!! Big help

Man, this forum has such influence!

Please send 5 dollars to

Ren B
P.O. Box 15310
RTP, NC 27709

I'm sure you'll enjoy bob's book, I have another book written by him and I thought it was excellent.