Any fuel test kit that can hook to 172 strainer drain?

JasonM

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
JM
I am a student and have been following the Checklist Procedures which call for me to pull the strainer drain knob, but to accomplish this and be able to test the fuel coming out, my instructor will pull the knob while I lay under the nose and hold the fuel test jar.

Is there any product out there that would grab a hold of the metal drain line so that I could do all of this on my own? I'm sure I could rig something up at the hardware store, but just wondering if there was a good setup already on the market.

No, hug the plane. Most folks can do it on a 172, but on my 182 the knob is on the left but the drain is on the right

You can make it yourself with about 5" of thick gauge (I forget the numeric diameter of the thick one) safety wire. Hook one end to the stud in the middle of the cup, then fold the other end over into a long barb and curve the tip away from the other stand of the wire. Shove that up into the tube and that'll hold it there with friction until you tug it out.

you saying to shove something into the fuel drain tube?? I was thinking something that would go around it/over it.

you saying to shove something into the fuel drain tube?? I was thinking something that would go around it/over it.

Be careful, soft aluminum tube that is easy to bend. Not a big deal occasionally but it will work harden and crack if it keeps getting bent.

While not 100% kosher lots of folks have learned how to recognize water in fuel drained onto the ground...