Antenna question

woodchucker

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
woodchucker
Some planes have a long antenna connected from the fuselage to the vertical stabilizer. A look at AOPA flight training site states that older ADF receivers need a "sensing wire" to prevent 180 degree errors. Are these the same thing?

I actually asked another pilot who had one on the plane he was flying and he didn't know either... so as a new pilot I don't feel quite so bad. The training aircraft I flew in didn't have this.

Some planes have a long antenna connected from the fuselage to the vertical stabilizer. A look at AOPA flight training site states that older ADF receivers need a "sensing wire" to prevent 180 degree errors. Are these the same thing?

Correct. Often the receiver that required it has been removed but nobody bothered to remove the wire.

Single engine aircraft permanently equipped for ocean crossings (or flight in the australian outback) sometimes have HF antennas strung from one of the wingtips to the tail and from there to the fuselage.

Had one on my twin ,first thing I got rid of,when I upgraded avionics.

I still had the insulator fitting for one of those long sense wires on my plane though it had been replaced with a "bump" style antenna. Both the fittings, the more modern ADF antenna, and the ADF itself went into the garbage when I redid the plane a few years back.

I had a Bendix T-12 ADF in my plane. It had both the long wire on top and a loop antenna on the belly.

My ADF and antenna are long gone. It was kind of fun to tune in an AM radio station with a baseball game and watch the ADF point directly at the broadcast antenna's location. Old school stuff.

My ADF and antenna are long gone. It was kind of fun to tune in an AM radio station with a baseball game and watch the ADF point directly at the broadcast antenna's location. Old school stuff.