Antenna for Handheld Com

AKBill

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
AKBill
I have been caring a handheld com when I fly for a couple of years. I store it in my flight bag with a headset connected to it. In the event of a com failure or loss of electrical power my thought was just pick up the radio, put the headset on and hit power. I have most of the local frequencies programed so selecting a frequency as simple as pushing one button on the radio.

At one time I had a loran C navigation in the plane. The antenna for the loran is still installed. My question is can I use that antenna as an external antenna for the handheld? I'm thinking it cant be used because loran used a 100KHZ frequency and our com frequencies are 118 to 137MHZ. Am I correct that I need a new antenna for use with the handheld com.

Thanks
Bill B

Program the tower number into your cell phone. Way easier.

I don't see any harm in trying ('cuz I'm the guy who fries stuff by trying, but it's a passive antenna, at least on our plane.)

Bill, attempting to use the loran antenna for your VHF handheld would result in a very high standing wave ratio (SWR) because of the impedance mismatch between the VHF transceiver and the low frequency resonate loran antenna. This could possibly damage the final amplifier transistor in the handheld transmitter circuit. Replacing the loran antenna with a VHF aviation band resonate antenna won't be expensive and would result in a much more efficient power transfer from the transceiver's transmitter to the antenna, greatly improving both the received signal strength and your transmitted signal.

I don't see any harm in trying ('cuz I'm the guy who fries stuff by trying, but it's a passive antenna, at least on our plane.)
My thought is that if the antenna is not properly matched to the radio I could damage the handheld com. Don't know if that is true