Another SSRI case

kwv108

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
kwv1022
All,
I'm sure you get this question all the time so I apologize for beating the topic to death. I am currently a student pilot and I love flying, but I have what seems to be a major issue. I am currently on Paroxetine Hydrochloride (Paxil) for depression and mild PTSD. On my last deployment there were some unfortunate events that took place which I received treatment for when I got out of the Marine Corps. I had trouble sleeping, adjusting to my new civilian life was somewhat difficult, and the VA doc put me on Paxil to help with that. I have been on it since then fairly steady with no major events or complaints. It did not occur to me when making the decision to realize my dream of flying that it would be such an issue. I contacted an AME and she advised me to consider SSRI path 1. I have since contacted my doctor and we have established a plan of coming off the medication. I really would like for this to work as it is something I've always wanted to do, but never had the chance until now. It seems based on my research online that the SSRI is an obstacle that is all but impossible to overcome. I went into detail about this with the AME and she said she would need to do some further research. Has anyone seen a case where this was successful? It is unfortunate, but I realize now I really should have dealt with everything on my own as it was really a temporary issue. Any information or advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

First of all, thank you for your service.

Well, "It depends". Most folks including some PCPs don't understand that all anxiety/depression is NOT the same. To do Decision path 1 successfully, and get certified, the agency has to be pretty sure you don't have dysthymia, chronic resistant depression or any of a number of "come and go" situation which cycle often and aren't as stable. Think "Andreas Lubitz" and you'll get it.