Another Logbook Question

mgpilot

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Matt
All --

I am a licensed sport pilot for airplane single engine land. Last week while I was out of town I went flying with a friend who owns a Remos. We discussed PIC beforehand and declared him as such since he is left seat and is listed on insurance and such.

While we were up, I took the controls and flew it for a while. My question is -- how do I log this? I don't think the time counts as PIC...but it doesn't make sense to put it in Dual Received or SIC either. How do I put this in?

Thanks!
Matt

You're rated. Log it under 61.51(e)(1)(i)

You can log as PIC that time which you have hands on the controls as pilot in an aircraft for which you are rated. Which by your statement you are so rated.

Do not log dual received unless the other pilot is qualified to instruct, CFI.
Do not log SIC as in your example, an SIC is not required for the flight.

As a point of regulation, Matt, being a Sport Pilot, is not "rated." He "holds privileges" in land airplane LSA's by virtue of a logbook endorsement, not a rating on his pilot certificate. However, that does fill the requirement of 61.51(e)(1)(i) to log PIC time as sole manipulator of a Light Sport Aircraft in the land airplane category/class (there being no non-SE LSA airplanes -- "A single, reciprocating engine, if powered" being one of the defining criteria of a LSA).
(e) Logging pilot-in-command flight time.
  • (1) A sport, recreational, private, commercial, or airline transport pilot may log pilot in command flight time for flights-
    (i) When the pilot is the sole manipulator of the controls of an aircraft for which the pilot is rated, or has sport pilot privileges for that category and class of aircraft, if the aircraft class rating is appropriate;

Hey look, another thread where the question was already answered that Ron chimed in on!

eCFR was down when I attempted to copy paste the regulation for him.

Last edited: