Another GNS430 Database Update Thread...

AU_James

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
James
I throw my hands up- I've got nothing. And yes, I've searched previous threads and other sites.

TL;DR--can somebody PLEASE provide current links and a step by step process to go from GNS 430 with old/expired databases to being able to use my Mac to get the updates and install them on my GNS 430?

--

I bought an IFR capable plane with a GNS 430 (non-WAAS). The databases were old, but that didn't bother me at the time since I was a VFR only pilot and knew I could update the databases later. Well, later is now and I'm so frustrated at the process.

I went to Garmin (site), and they said that because I have a Mac I can't use their software.

Ok, I was thinking of going straight to Jepp anyway.

I search their site for "GNS 430" and nothing comes up. I search for "database" and only a few things come up. I go through PoA to older threads on this topic where helpful folks have provided links and simple steps to others who have run into this issue. Those links (now) take me to a Boeing page with what seems like a random assortment of products completely unrelated to database updates.

I search Boeing. The only database products I can find are for other parts of the world. EVERY other part of the world, actually. I eventually search for "JDM" on the Jepp site and I think I find the software I'll need on my computer (and it's Mac compatible!!).

I download the software, and the app doesn't launch. Restart my computer (even though it doesn't run Windows and that seems like predominantly a Microsoft fix). Program still won't work.