Android-based EFB discussion

TMetzinger

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Tim
I'm starting this thread to talk about Electronic Flight Bags on the Android Platform. I do not want this to turn into an iOS/Android discussion - there's already a thread for that.

I've been using Windows-based EFBs for 12+ years, including Jepp and NACO products on Win2K, XP, and Win7.

The Nexus 7's form factor and price appear to hit the sweet spot for me, giving me a platform that I can easily use in the various airplanes I fly. So here's what I'm putting together this week.
  • Nexus 7 16 GB - should have 14 GB free storage
  • 4GLTE connectivity via my VZN phone/hotspot - no additional charge on my "share everything" plan.
  • Garmin Pilot. I've got this on my phone right now and it takes up 11 GB for two (current and next) chart cycles of sectionals, lo enroute, and approach plates, plus GeoRef Safetaxi charts. If I run low on space, I can delete some of the chart coverage.
  • About 800 MB of reference material - Handbooks, Manuals, Advisory Circulars, etc
  • Documents-To-Go for editing Office files like expense reports or invoices
  • ConnectBot for SSH/Telnet - handy when talking to DUAT
  • Tapatalk (duh - gotta check POA)
  • FlightTools E6B
  • Logbook Pro
  • Weather Channel
  • ES File Explorer
  • Kid stuff (Angry Birds, etc, for my daughter on road trips)
This should fit well on the Nexus 7. I wish it had more storage, but I also can plan on buying the next generation and giving this tablet to my daughter who will love it. With 802.11N between the tablet and my phone, I can also use the phone as a file server (it has 32 GB) if I need to move things off the tablet.