Anal Fissure

U

Unregistered

How does one go about getting an anal fissure resolved? I go to the doctor, they give me cortisone cream, say keep it clean put this stuff on it. But at the slightest hint of constipation, it opens up. Needless to say that in spite of getting plenty of fiber, as time wears on age slows things down if you know what I mean. Been going on for a few years now, but my doctor doesn't seem to have any thing new to say.

I'm not a doctor and I don't pretend to be one, but I'll bet surgery is in your future. I'm sure Dr. Bruce will give you a better idea what's ahead for you.

I had one and did not have surgery. (yet) It seems to have healed fine.
The trick in my case was strict hygiene (a 'bidet' may be one of the few good French ideas) and I mean after Every Movement. Dry gently. Apply thin coat of Anusol. Main purpose being to preserve moisture, prevent dessication of tissues.
Avoid wiping excessively. Don't buy cheap tissue, get the softest around. Avoid gas station restrooms for the same reason. Lose weight. Wear loose clothes. Fiber in your diet is now a Daily thing... Almost every meal. No bacon and eggs... now it's oatmeal. Veggies on the Subway. Veggies with that steak.
Try metamucil or others. Get to know prunes and raisins.

I had one for about a year that bled profusely after every movement. Ended up having surgery. Painful recovery of about a week but fixed the problem. That was 20 years ago and no recurrence.

Last edited by a moderator:
Anonymous said:
How does one go about getting an anal fissure resolved? I go to the doctor, they give me cortisone cream, say keep it clean put this stuff on it. But at the slightest hint of constipation, it opens up. Needless to say that in spite of getting plenty of fiber, as time wears on age slows things down if you know what I mean. Been going on for a few years now, but my doctor doesn't seem to have any thing new to say.