An Airworthiness Nightmare

Keith Lane

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Keith Lane
Maybe some of you (hopefully not too many) can relate to the story on AVweb about this fellow's C-320 woes. (Maybe Bob Gerace can, a little)

http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/189513-1.html

Wow, what an eye opener that musta been. Especially the last part about how the FSDO can do NOTHING to the guy who signed off on this whopper.
Look at the pictures at the end. It also should be stated that if the turbo's needed THAT much re-rework that the owner should have at least put his head under the cowl at least once during the "annual". Maybe he is a particularly non-mechanical guy, but some of those pictures make it look pretty obvious that something was visibly wrong on those engines, like the baffling just hanging on the engine.

Somebody should at least get a sternly worded letter from a rapier witted FAA guy in his file for this.....

Last edited:
Egads! That is bad. As a pilot, I always got in a plane with the thought that a knowledgable mechanic had looked at this aircraft so it was safe. Then I got my A&P and started looking at airplanes as a mechanic. There have been planes that I inspected that made me wonder about the mechanic who last worked on it. Sad.

Dustin Smith

Keith Lane said:
Maybe some of you (hopefully not too many can relate to the story on AVweb about this fellow's C-320 woes. (Maybe Bob Gerace can, a little)

http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/189513-1.html

Somebody should at least get a sternly worded letter from a rapier witted FAA guy in his file for this.....

Just to add fuel to the fire.

My PMI, from FSDO once asked me,"How many annuals did you do this year" (March-March) I gave him the number, he said how do you know some one has not signed off an aircraft using your numbers?

I stood there with my mouth open, Wondering Could it happen ?
He Said "YES" it happens.

Tom D. A&P-IA ( changed his number this year) Got new plastic card too. :)