America's oldest newbie

qbynewbie

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Qbynewbie
Hi Brian, it's nice to have you here. :yes: I always enjoy your posts on the other forums. If you have time, why don't you start an intro thread and tell us about yourself. :)

I have immense respect for Diana so I try to do what she asks, even when it's a bit embarrassing... :) Actually, I recognize many of the names here from the Red and Purple Boards. But many names are unfamiliar. I always assume those are the good friends I simply haven't met yet.

As the title says, I'm one of America's oldest newbies. Not that I'm THAT old -- I'm only 54. But it took me 35 years and 9 months from first flight to solo and I haven't yet found anyone who took longer than that. :D

My first flight was in June, 1972. I was a very poor college student with just enough money for six lessons. Once those were over and the money was gone, I told myself that I'd do that again "some day". Some day came last summer, when I was driving down a deserted county road past the same small airport where I had taken those lessons so long ago. I stopped the car in the middle of the road, turned around and went back to the airport. 20 minutes later, Kyle (my new CFI) and I were preflighting a 172. How little did he know what he was getting into! :eek:

When I was 17, flying was easy. At 53, I showed a truly remarkable lack of aptitude for mastering the last five seconds of the landing process. Kyle sat through what seemed like thousands of bad landings but I guess were merely only dozens and dozens and dozens.

I travel extensively for work, in the US and Canada. That gave me a chance to distribute the pain around a bit to other CFIs in Oregon, California, Massachusetts and Hawaii. Joe Areeda was really recommended, so I contacted him last Fall and have spent quite a few days under his tutelage. I think he, too, was shaking his head wondering what the heck he'd agreed to.