Altitude sickness?

Challenged

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Challenged
I went to AZ recently and did a day trip from Scottsdale up to The Grand Canyon. I noticed about halfway into the 4 hour drive that I started to get a very mild headache. After making it up to the canyon and spending several hours at 7000 feet at various viewpoints, I had to ask my family to leave early so I could get some Advil, my head was pounding so bad.

I'm not prone to headaches at all, but I would probably say this was the worst headache pain I've ever experienced. I had been driving and had to ask my wife to take over on the way out, as I couldn't focus on the road because the pain was so intense. I slept for about an hour on the way down to Sedona, where we stayed for the night, and after waking up from my nap at about 4,000 feet in altitude, I felt fine and had no further issues on the trip.

As I have been flying for several years and have never come across any problems, I was surprised by what I experienced and was curious if anyone else has ever had any altitude related issues.

Last edited:
I believe I was properly hydrated. I steadily drank water during the drive up and while there.

I believe I was properly hydrated. I steadily drank water during the drive up and while there.
Did you walk around or otherwise exert yourself? When you are flying you are sitting still.

I was definitely more active than I am inside the airplane, but I didn't go hiking either; mainly just walking around on mild inclines or climbing a few stairs.

Mixing dehydration and altitude is a one-way ticket to a headache. Different people react differently, but we tell visiting friends to drink drink drink when we drive them up into the mountains.

I'm acclimatized to at least some altitude, but one of only two migraines I've ever experienced was when hiking at Capitol Reef National Monument and becoming dehydrated.

I didn't know what a migraine even was at the time.