Airplane Camping Cabin Renovation Questions

Cory S. M. Hinch

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
hinch-man
Hello all,

This is my first thread. Big thanks to @GeorgeC for showing me how to post a thread. I am a political consultant and my wife owns a PR firm in Pensacola, Florida. I live walking distance to a very small airport for minis. We also have an international airport in town as well. I know nothing about planes but I hope to have my private pilot license within the next two years. However, my father-in-law owns 3 small planes on his waterfront property (these planes float) nearby and has been flying for many years. I am hoping to connect with him in this hobby while fulfilling my own dreams as well.

I have a passion for nomadic travel ever since I bought my first car (1973 VW Westflia) in 2012. This adventure led me to a dream that I have fulfilled 66% of the way. The dream is to own 3 different modes of transportation for nomadic travel. My VW Bus has bunk beds, my Hunter sailboat can sleep 5, and I have yet to find a plane to complete my fantasy. This leads me to my questions about renovating the interior of an Airplane such as yours. Ideally I would like to have a 5 passenger plane that I can put seats in when traveling with my whole family. When I travel with my wife alone I would like to be able to have a custom fit bed in the cabin. Is this sort of renovation possible? If someone were to do so, would airports allow owners to sleep in their private planes? I was a live aboard on my sailboat for 2 years, which many people found controversial yet some places it was common place. I can imagine airports have a similar perspective in this regard. I can speculate that the smaller airport will be more accommodating. I'm hoping to buy a plane that costs less than 100k and spend more on upgrades. I'd like to be able to seat 6.

*Can you give me any insight into this endeavor?
-Is this sort of renovation possible?