Hello everyone..

Bio :
150TT
90PIC
50 PIC XC
Night : minimum
Non-IFR Rated
Non HP, nor Complex Rated

I have been flying for 2 years and jumped into aviation.
I rented from the flight school until I completed my PPL, then renting at $225/hour became absurd.

I joined the Civil Air Patrol and now fly their 1980 C-172 for $38/hour plus fuel.
The CAP requires an annual flight review and 1 hour ground session. If anything.. I am good at flight reviews.

I would say I am an ultra-conservative pilot..
- I have only flown 'on top' of the clouds 2x... with one-time being yesterday.
- Longest flight - 6 hours with another pilot
- Longest solo flight - 3.2 hours ( yesterday )

Here is what I am looking at :

1. Continue to fly with CAP. Sometimes problems with plane availability, but 80% OK.
2. 1970 Piper Cherokee 140 ( upgraded to 160 ), Garmin 430, IFR certified - $25,000 - outright.....
3. 1958 Piper Comanche 250. IFR, No certified GPS, retractable gear.. on home field. 1/4 share.. $7,000, $55/month for hangar, $10/hour, and own insurance.
4. 1980 Piper Arrow, Garmin 530/430 combo, IFR, $6,000 for 1/8th share, $150/month, and $25/hour.. but based at KPDK ( 1 hour away )...

Goals :
IFR rating in 1 year
Flying friends and family

Options :
1. I can do the IFR training in the CAP plane and flight review... very low cost.
2. The Piper 160 seems like a great deal.. but only 750 useful load ? That becomes a 2-person airplane with full tanks... but would be an ideal 2-person airplane, and great IFR platform to train in... But.. I know ZERO about airplane ownership....
3. The Comanche 250 is HP and Complex ( neither I have ) and I flew in it today.. it is a rocket ship compared to the 172's.. I felt that this airplane was 'too much' for me.. but I am sure with enough hours.. I would be comfortable as the 172's... One of the owners has 1600 hours, 400 in this airplane, and one other partner is a AP..
4. Arrow - Just too far away.. but WOW.. what a great deal..

Thoughts :