Aircraft Piper PA28 Cherokee 140

Steven Docherty

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
1965 Cherokee 140
Have a question, I am a student pilot and have purchased a Cherokee 140 for training. My question is, What cheap GPS should I purchase and whats the average install fee. I also have fourflight.

Thanks

Steven D

I guess once i have finished whats the recommendations

panel 172.jpg I have used them all. My favorite is the Garmin 696. I also have my Ipad Pro 10.5 with wing X. I put the 696 in my radio stack section of the 172.

If you are contemplating an instrument rating in the future, then a WAAS GPS is de rigueur, e.g. GNS or GTN series, although the GNS systems are getting long in the tooth now. Otherwise, a good tablet or portable GPS with WX capability is adequate for VFR travel. There is no "cheap" GPS panel mount solution.

I have a GNS430W for IFR navigation, and use an AERA 510 for GPS backup and XM WX, plus a yoke mounted tablet EFB with redundant GPS. Some serious crap must happen for me to lose all GPS nav due to in plane issues. The AERA is about to be supplanted with an NGT9000 for WX. For VFR travel, I don't really need the GNS, but is sure is nice, especially since it drives the autopilot.