Aircoupe/Ercoupe Alon A-2

BigAL

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
BigAL
Noob here, go easy on me.:D Dad had his lic and isn't current, I'm now gonna start my lessons this summer.......I hope.(after planting and wheat harvest)

Dad always wanted an ercoupe, so it looks like that is in the plans. I'd like to get my training in the coupe so it is a bit cheaper. I've only been reading and do'n sporty's online course and a bit excited and ready to get in the air......but the runway is closed for the next 2 months(new runway). I know a little about the coupes, but wondered if any of you could tell me if it is a good trainer plane or go w/the 172?

The Alon does have rudder, but I don't think it has flaps.

Btw, enjoy the site and all the good reading.......one of these days my shirt will be on the wall.:yikes:

A bit about me, I farm, joke ALOT, and have a couple smokers(bbq) that get plenty of attention. I was into rc planes until it got too expensive(so yea, now I'm look'n at buy'n a plane.....go figure). Also looks like I'll have to watch the 8hrs from bottle to throttle.:nonod::D

Thanks for the help.:drink:

I know little about Aircoupes....but welcome to the board!

Ercoupe is a fine airplane to learn to fly in. Club I used to be in used it for sport training, and some private training too. Especially if that is what you are going to be flying once you get your license, that might as well be what you learn to fly in.

Ercoupe is a fine airplane to learn to fly in. Club I used to be in used it for sport training, and some private training too. Especially if that is what you are going to be flying once you get your license, that might as well be what you learn to fly in.

I see why your not fly'n today Tony, ya got some nasties head'n your way. Doesn't look too good, keep that crap out there.

Yep, the coupe will be for fun/check'n fields. When it's time for xc w/the family there are many options to rent.