Air Combat Simulation Gaming!

redtail

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Redtail
I have a family member who mastered the A-10 DCS and has now moved on to the F-18. He spent a large portion of our summer vacation quizzing me on CV ops. I was amazed at how much he knew, he even had me googling a few things because I couldn’t trust my memory. He even politely corrected me on something I had mixed up in my head. The DCS sim is pretty awesome.
@Cooter

The fighter pilot podcast.
https://www.fighterpilotpodcast.com/podcast/028-air-combat-simulation-gaming/

Been a fan of DCS World (particularly to A-10C and Hornet) as well as flightsims in general since I was a teen. For those of us who've always wanted to fly a fighter jet, but never had the opportunity (for one reason or another), this is the next best thing!

In this episode, a former Hornet/Rhino pilot (retired two years ago) visits the home of Eagle Dynamics'... Matt "Wags" Wagner and tries his hand at the DCS F/A-18C for the first time.
It's great to see how impressed he was with it and how close it is to the real thing. He also tried VR for the first time and was equally impressed. VR is incredible. Once you try it, you'll never want to use a PC monitor again. This hobby has come a long way since my Commodore-64/Amiga days :D

The Tomcat will be released this winter. http://heatblur.com/

Enjoy the podcast!

DCS: F/A-18C Hornet – Episode 17 Flight Performance Advisory System (FPAS)

F/A-18C Hornet – Episode 18 AGM-65E Laser Maverick

These guys have even modeled the Joint Helmet Mounted Cuing System (JHMCS).
Incredible!

Last edited:
@Cooter

The fighter pilot podcast.
https://www.fighterpilotpodcast.com/podcast/028-air-combat-simulation-gaming/

Been a fan of DCS World (particularly to A-10C and Hornet) as well as flightsims in general since I was a teen. For those of us who've always wanted to fly a fighter jet, but never had the opportunity (for one reason or another), this is the next best thing!