Aileron Roll Aerobat

etemplet

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
etemplet
Well... did my first few rolls in the Aerobat today. I have some aerobatic experience in a Pitts and recently took the Greg Koontz Aerobatic Training flying the Decathlon. Today was my first time alone and unassisted. LOL I have a few issues so advice and discussion would be interesting.

I was taught to establish a 30 degree up-line, go do zero G or slightly positive and roll left with a little left rudder. I am not sure exactly when but I add right rudder when finishing up the maneuver. I am probably leaving out some important stuff but.... these are my basics.

My big problem is that I am finishing with the nose pointed pretty far below the horizon. I have the speed on entry and it actually feels pretty nice but it gets ugly as it progresses.
I did 4 or 5 today and got my cherry so... now I want to do them with some style and grace. Help would be appreciated.

PMs work for me as well. Thanks in advance

Last edited:
In slow planes it takes a touch of push on the yoke when inverted to avoid that. Always worked for me in 150 and 172. In the EZ it makes the engine stumble and doesn't need it.
Didn't they tell you that in training? Mine did.

I'll second what flyingriki said. You might also try adding some small slow-roll inputs. That's what my instructor taught - something halfway between a "slow roll" (level) and an aileron roll (arc).

Apologies for the vertical video...forgot to turn the camera.

EDIT: Exactly how nose-low are you ending up? Like...45° or what?

Last edited: