Agile/Scrum cert ?

paflyer

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
PAFlyer
So I'm currently "in transition" as the HR types like to call it. Soooo many positions in my area are SW and I'm basically a HW/product development guy with degrees in both computer science and EE and decades of eperience. You'd think the phone would be ringing off the hook, but my SW "professional experience" is limited and very last century.

I'd say 90% of technology management positions around here spec Agile, Scrum, and other flavors of the month.

Any suggestions from the IT guys on how I can knock out a (cheap) certification that will at least get my resume looked at and give me enough background to discuss it intelligently during interviews? I don't want to take a year and spend thousands. The rest I can learn once I'm in.

TIA

I have a PMP, PMI-ACP, and lean six sigma black belt. I also work as an independent contractor for a company that provides training and tools to help students pass the PMP or PMI-ACP certification exams. Currently, I am working as an author developing training materials.

A PMI-ACP includes Scrum but certifies a broader knowledge base of agile methodologies. This might provide more employment opportunities than just Scrum. Just let me know if I can be of assistance.

Here is the company I am currently working with and obviously recommend in my albeit biased opinion.

https://www.project-management-prepcast.com/

Thanks Don I'll check it out.

Is it true that you need thousand of hours as a "program manager" - I assume you need that title somewhere in the resume- to sit for the PMP?

The job title is not relevant. For the PMP, you will need to document 4,500 hours of experience leading and directing projects with a four-year college degree.

For a PMI-ACP, you will need 2,000 hours general project management experience and 1,500 hours working on agile projects with a four-year degree.