Aerodynamics for 11yo brainiacs?

AdamZ

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Adam Zucker
Looking for a little help here. My Genuis 11 year old 4th grader nephew is in the Gifted program at his school. The program is doing a unit on Aerodynamics! His teacher asked me to come in and speak to the class. Now I'm an attorney I love talking in front of people adults kids etc. Did a great presentation on GA to my daughters brownie troop. But I gotta tell ya my nephew is SCARY SMART Now if the rest of the kids in his class are like that I'm up the creek without a paddle. These kids talk about Newtons 3rd law of motion ( every action has and equal and opposite reaction) like I talk about whats for dinner. (by the way I knew what Newtons 3rd law was just didn't know it was called that until Sam the genuis told me at 9 last summer. Sheesh.) Any ideas on how to keep it intersting for these Bill Gates of tomrrow?

I have an idea. You should start off by asking them questions. Ask them what they know about aviation, and see how far their knowledge reaches. Then build up from there. Don't just go there and start by "hey kids, this is how a wing works". They probably already know that...

Just my 2 cents. Good luck!

PS: if they start getting too smart on you, take a copy of the FAR/AIM... that should put an end to it hehe.

Last edited:
Any ideas on how to keep it intersting for these Bill Gates of tomrrow?

Adam,

Do you have, or could you find someone who would let you borrow, a radio controlled model airplane? Maybe even a couple of different ones with different airfoils. Be sure you know what the advantages and disadvantages are of the various types (flat-bottom, semi-symmetric, symmetric). And maybe re-read your copy of Aerodynamics for Naval Aviators before you go. :yes: