Advice requested

NickDBrennan said:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=63677&item=4542818251&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

I'm sober tonight...this looks good....am I missing anything here? I'm still new to the idea that I can actually afford to purchase an airplane.

:no: I suspect that you would need to spend a lot of money to get this plane where you would like it. It looks like one of those airplanes that sits on the ramp for ages without being used with flat tires. The last overhaul was in 1982 -- believe it or not, that's 23 years ago:eek: Personally, I wouldn't fly it, even though it's only 1074 SMOH. The engine is more than "run-out" in 23 years. But that would just be the start of your heartaches. Just to give you an idea of the care over the years . . . the owner bragged about adding a master switch -- WOW, big spender. Why not find a plane in excellent condition and pay the piper up front? Ask yourself, "Would I buy a car in that condition?"

NickDBrennan said:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=63677&item=4542818251&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

I'm sober tonight...this looks good....am I missing anything here? I'm still new to the idea that I can actually afford to purchase an airplane.

Ehhh... What do you want? You were looking at a 182, that's a usefull airplane. This is a 172, for me, they are very limited usefullness aircraft. It's too slow for a one or two person aircraft, and can't haul the loads I want. If it fits your profile, ok. I'm not sure about this one, looks like a ramp queen. Considering where it lives & how little it gets used, Its a real candidate for corrosion (Cessna Scrud), and a 23 year old engine at mid times??? You're probably looking to overhaul it soon. Panel is so so at best, and the price is already going a bit high.

Here's a useful plane for you:
http://www.airshow.net/html/adpage.cfm?ID=7471