Advice on training

Cthomase

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Cthomase
All,

I'm looking to dive into flight training with the ultimate goal of getting my ATP-Helicopter rating. Here's my situation, I'd really value some advice from those who know...

I'm a 9 year Navy vet with zero previous flight training but think it's time I start training, sort of now or never. It's always been something I've wanted but life took a different path. I've finished my undergrad and from everything I've seen and heard so far is that I could 1) get an associates and use the rest of my VA benefits or 2) use my benefits for vocational training. Neither of which would cover my PPL. I think I've found a school, Veracity Aviation, anyone have anything to say on them?

So really I could use advice on a couple of fronts:
What's the best and most cost effective way to get my ATP rating? Taking that into account, what's the fastest way to make that happen? Does anyone have experience either one way or the other when it comes to VA benefits? I'm not keen on getting my associates when I've already finished my bachelors, but the program I'm looking at is accelerated, seems to get me where I want with my flight goals and lets me use the "perks" of my VA benefits (housing allowance, books, etc). Also, does anyone have any reviews of Veracity? Or have anything to say on other schools in the San Antonio area? Looking specifically for helicopter training.

Thanks!

To confirm a nugget of information, you wish to focus your career on helicopter and not fixed wing?

One thing that can be done now is to make sure you are good to go for your medical.