Advice for path to flying with an airline?

Bubba Sullivan

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Bubba_Sullivan
Hello everyone, I'm a high school student looking to get a job as a pilot (preferably with United) and I've recently been researching good paths to take to get there. I've considered an all ATP approach such as that with Sling Academy in Torrence to just get my 1500 hours as quickly as possible, but then I know I would have to wait until I'm 23 to get hired anyway. I've also looked at a couple of colleges with professional flight degrees and RATP such as SJSU and ASU, which I like as I would also be able to get a college experience and only have to wait until I'm 21 and have 1000 hours. Any suggestions on other colleges or possibly an all ATP that also does RATP? Thanks!

Have you read through the medical sub-forum section? Do you have any diagnosis or medications that you see other people talking about?

Have you read through the medical sub-forum section? Do you have any diagnosis or medications that you see other people talking about?
@Bubba Sullivan
The post by @Mongoose Aviator may not seem relevant to your question but I think it is the VERY FIRST thing you should do, based on hundreds of other people in your position that run into a devastating surprise over something they forgot about years ago.

As to your question, I suggest you look at a 4 year college and get a degree in something you are interested in, besides aviation. Any degree will help you get in the door at an airline, but if for some reason that fails, you have something to fall back on.