ADSB-In recommendations

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Cirrostratus, Feb 23, 2019.

  1. Cirrostratus

    Cirrostratus Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingFinn
    Any recommendations for a unit that can provide traffic for 496 and traffic+weather for Foreflight on an iPad? Can the GDL39 do both at the same time?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. Ravioli

    Ravioli Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pasta Man
    Yes, you'll use a cable to the x96 and bluetooth to the iThing.
     
    Cirrostratus likes this.
  3. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,558
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    My Stratux sends the IN picture to my tablet via wifi or bluetooth.
     
  4. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    The gdl39 will work.
     
  5. sourdough44

    sourdough44 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WI Flyer
    I use a GDL-39 to my IPad with Garmin Pilot. A friend used a GDL-50 with Foreflight in the same way. The GDL-39 is just fine, but I’m considering some form of ADS-B update with the panel solution. I think a deadline is approaching?

    I been a new transponder anyway, and a few other things. After some research I plan to meet with a shop.
     
  6. AK737pilot

    AK737pilot Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Chris
    I just went through that process of research.
    My current setup is a Jurassic Narco AT-150 transponder, panel mounted Aera 660 hardwired to a GDL 39 3D. I run Garmin Pilot on my iPad mini which is Bluetooth connected to both the GDL 39 and Aera. The GDL sends traffic info to both the Aera and iPad. I don’t have a WAAS GPS unit in the panel.

    Options:
    Install an ADS-B In and Out transponder and ditch the GDL.
    - L3 Lynx $$$$ (does it have its own WAAS GPS?)
    - Garmin GTX 345 $$$ (if money wasn’t an issue, this is the way I’d go).

    Install ADS-B Out and keep the GDL or Stratus
    - Stratus ESG $$
    - Garmin GTX 335 $$

    I elected to go with the GTX 335 because
    1- I’ve already got the GDL and use the Garmin Pilot app
    2- The Garmin package I’m getting includes the encoder
    3- as an A&P I can install it myself (my local avionics shop is building a harness and calibrating my altimeter/encoder).
    4- The GTX 335 has RS232 out that can one day be connected to a G5.


    I didn’t want to go the SkyBeacon/UAT route because my transponder and encoder was in need of replacement anyway.

    Good luck in your research!



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  7. gsengle

    gsengle Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,964
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Gsengle
    I went lynx. Does it all, stand-alone...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Jim_CAK likes this.
  8. zaitcev

    zaitcev En-Route

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,986
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pete Zaitcev
    What was your out-of-pocket cost? I paid $5,000 for GTX-335. Garmin had a $3k deal for the unit with antenna included, and $2k was the labor.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2019
  9. Jim_CAK

    Jim_CAK Pre-takeoff checklist PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim_CAK
    I mentioned in another thread we paid $4,700 for the Lynx + installation.
    We had a lot of other avionics work done and labor was not broken out for each step separately. I am guessing the Lynx installed, out the door was around $6,000.
    Depending on what else is in the panel, the screen Lynx was what made me get it over some of the other options.
     
    MBDiagMan, zaitcev and gsengle like this.
  10. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,746
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    When I put the 345 in the Mooney, the Lynx would have cost $1,000 more. Now they are virtually the same price. If I had it to do over, I would have put in the Lynx if I could have done it for the same money.
     
    murphey likes this.
  11. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,746
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    The GDL39 and the GTX335 provide IN?
     
  12. AK737pilot

    AK737pilot Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Chris
    The GDL 39 provides the IN when you’re in range of a tower or in someone else’s OUT “hockey puck.” GDL 39 is the old version of the GDL 50/52. Both work the same.

    With the GTX 335 OUT you’re always within your own hockey puck and will see other participating traffic through the GDL 39/50/52/Stratus/Stratux.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    21,696
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Note that you do have to configure the 335 to tell the ground stations that you have In or the "puck" won't matter - If the ground stations don't know you have In, they won't send the traffic data.
     
  14. Ravioli

    Ravioli Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pasta Man
    Do you know if this is also true for the GTX330ES? I've chosen 330ES out and GDL39 In (displayed on panel mount 696).
     
  15. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    21,696
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Yes. I think @vontresc reconfigured the GTX330ES on our R182, so maybe he can tell you how...
     
    Checkout_my_Six likes this.
  16. vontresc

    vontresc En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,478
    Location:
    Madison
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    vonSegelGoober
    Yep. Find yourself the MX/install manual then go to the config mode by holding down the enter key on boot up.

    There is an option to define your ADS-b in equipment.

    Peter
     
    Ravioli likes this.
  17. zaitcev

    zaitcev En-Route

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,986
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pete Zaitcev
    The GDL 39 and GDL 50/52/50R family are all dual-band receivers. They receive transmissions directly from other aircraft in both 1090ES or UAT. Therefore, they do not need ground stations to re-transmit traffic.

    Stratux can be configured to receive in both bands, but it obviously needs 2 RTL-SDR dongle receivers for it, with 2 antennas. I'm not up to its latest software to know if it can actually use 2 sources simultaneously, but hey, it's open source. Fix it if you find it wanting.

    So, as far as safety of flight is concerned, while what you said is true, it does not matter if the ground stations do not cooperate. In fact it's better if they don't steal the bandwidth. The weather may be missing or delayed, but I don't care for in-flight weather. I was flying VFR for a little while and I'm comfortable with using radio to obtain weather. I'm not going to screw with configuration of my GTX 335 until I have ADS-B/FIS-B receiver in the panel.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2019
  18. kgruber

    kgruber En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    M94 Airport Manager
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Skywag
    Went with GDL-50 and Aera-660. I like the size and performance. I built a Stratux, but never liked the form factor. The 660 fit nicely on the yoke...........and I'm the guy that HATES stuff on the yoke!! Plus: the 660 interfaces with the 430W!

    [​IMG]
     
  19. 455 Bravo Uniform

    455 Bravo Uniform Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,242
    Location:
    KLAF
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    455 Bravo Uniform
    Isn’t it as simple as entering the config mode on the 335 and then selecting UAT-in or 1090-in and selecting “on”? Whether you use it or not, at least you have the option to catch WX in case you need it in a bind.
     
  20. Doug Reid

    Doug Reid Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doug Reid
    Maybe I misunderstood your quote, but just to clarify: First..it is my understanding that the weather is broadcast all the time from the ADS-B towers, and is not dependent on ADS-B OUT transmissions. So, even if you do not have ADS-B OUT, a 978UAT receiver and a tablet can give you free in-flight weather. Plus, that same 978UAT receiver will show 978UAT traffic. The reason for selecting 1090 or 978 IN after installing ADS-B OUT is so they know what frequency to use when they transmit TIS-B traffic to your puck. I hope I didn't confuse you worse .
     
    flyingcheesehead likes this.
  21. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    21,696
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Not so. You'll only receive traffic that has ADS-B Out directly. The ground stations will give you traffic in your vicinity that is on radar only (ie, does not yet have ADS-B Out). IMO, without the ground transmission, you might as well not have a traffic display at all, lest it give you a false sense of security or draw your attention towards traffic that is less likely to cause a conflict than a target you aren't being shown.

    Yes, I know that even with ground transmissions it's still possible for there to be traffic that doesn't show up, but it's far less likely, and it's possible to see whether you're in radar coverage by looking at your transponder. I'd rather see more traffic on screen, not less.

    Wow... You must not fly long cross countries much? I do NOT miss the bad old days of being on Flight Following or IFR, hearing "Attention all aircraft, Convective SIGMET blah blah is available on HIWAS, Flight Watch, or Flight Service frequencies", asking to switch, calling Flight Watch, and being told that there's a storm centered 28 miles northeast of some VOR I never heard of.

    In the 15 years from about 1998 to 2013, GA went from not really even having moving maps that were worth a crap, to having very nice color moving maps, in-flight traffic and weather. The improvement in situational awareness is almost hard to comprehend.

    Weather is always being transmitted. It's getting traffic inside your own "puck" that requires the reconfiguration. And it is just one setting, marking that you have ADS-B In. The system won't transmit the traffic if it doesn't think you can receive it.