ADS-B Questions

Discussion in 'Flight Following' started by cgrab, May 15, 2019.

  1. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,642
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    1. Since my first validation flight, I've flown four times and none of them have shown up on Flight Aware. Why is that? Is there another Flight Aware for ADS-B flights?

    2. There is an area between Huntsville and Chattanooga where the controller says he can't pass me off because I'm too low (<6k) and that in a few miles I can contact CHA. Does that mean that planes are not being painted and therefore my ADS-B in is not effective?
     
  2. GeorgeC

    GeorgeC En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,561
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GeorgeC
    1. Create an account with FlightAware if you don't already have one and then check the "show position-only flights" box.

    2. The MEA between HSV and CHA is 4000; how low were you flying?
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2019
    flyingcheesehead likes this.
  3. Mtns2Skies

    Mtns2Skies Super Moderator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,408
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mtns2Skies
    1: Do you have UAT or 1090? Many 3rd party tracking services don't have the ability to track UAT due to a lack of ground stations.
     
  4. SoCal RV Flyer

    SoCal RV Flyer Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    2,278
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SoCal RV Flyer
    My ADS-B is UAT out, and I show up on FlightAware just fine between about 2500' and typical cruising altitude of 5500'. GeorgeC's tip #1 is key.

    I did notice that the more times I flew, the more complete the flight traces became. I hear they're even better if you file a flight plan, but I rarely do as most flights are 30-minute lunch hops.
     
  5. midwestpa24

    midwestpa24 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,246
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    midwestpa24
    None of our Skybeacon equipped aircraft show up on flightaware, unless they receive flight following. I'm assuming due to the UAT only output.
     
  6. boxorox

    boxorox Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    boxorox
    This! Don't forget to make sure the N number is added to "My Aircraft" in "My FlightAware"

    1.png

    You'll see two different notices when viewing these flights:
    2.png
    3.png
     
  7. Gary

    Gary En-Route

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Harleysville, PA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Gary
    Interesting.... my Skybeacon equipped Cherokee flights do show up on FlightAware if I search for my tail number. Certainly was not on flight following for them.
     
  8. simtech

    simtech Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,494
    Location:
    mississippi
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Simtech
    Not all my flights will show up, some do some dont, flight following or not. I dont understand that either.
     
  9. Eric Lehto

    Eric Lehto Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Antelope Valley, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lombard
    So far, none of my flights have shown up. I got my skybeacon installed and verified a few weeks ago.

    Funny thing is the last plane I was partners on, we installed a Stratus, and every time that bird flies it shows up on flightaware.
     
  10. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    22,204
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Stratus is dual band, Skybeacon is 978 only.
     
  11. Velocity173

    Velocity173 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    10,346
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Velocity173
    Try Flightradar24. Our helicopters with ADS-B show up usually all they way down to around 1500 ft on it.
     
  12. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    22,204
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    FlightRadar24 doesn't do 978. A friend of mine has 978 on his plane and is setting up a receiver for them so he asked about it. They have no plans to support it, and no interest.
     
    Velocity173 likes this.
  13. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,642
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    I have a Skybeacon and a Flight Aware account set up as advised. I'll not worry so much about tracking but to the second question...will my ADS-B IN work if I'm below 4000' (the MEA) between HSV and CHA where there is no radar coverage?
     
  14. Doug Reid

    Doug Reid Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doug Reid
    Be glad you have 978 UAT...lack of flight tracking is a plus, IMO. At our airport, there is a 1090 receiver sending data to flightaware at all times. If you do touch and goes, it tracks your every move. Also, when it comes time for your transponder check every two years, your check will be less expensive.

    Your second question: You can still receive ADS-B traffic direct even on the ground, but TIS-B requires adequate radar coverage to see the traffic, plus you have to be in range of a tower to pick up the transmission.

    What are you using for ADS-B in ?
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2019
  15. GeorgeC

    GeorgeC En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,561
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GeorgeC
    You won't see mode C traffic if there's no radar coverage. Otherwise, depending on your ads-b in solution, you'll get air-to-air traffic on 1090 and/or 978, and/or uplinks from a ground-based transceiver if there happens to be one nearby.
     
  16. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,642
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
  17. GeorgeC

    GeorgeC En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,561
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GeorgeC
    1090 does. I don't know what 978 will do in a non-radar environment.
     
  18. NordicDave

    NordicDave Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    Planes show up in the national system if they are either painted by radar, interrogated by land based ADS-B towers, or ship to ship interrogations in the vicinity.

    -David
     
  19. Velocity173

    Velocity173 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    10,346
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Velocity173
    A good presentation on the various methods of getting traffic on your ADS-B in.

     
  20. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,642
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    thanks
     
  21. ChopAndDrop

    ChopAndDrop Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    USA SouthEast
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ChopAndDrop
    I fly this area, and I think the reason they do this is not just for Radar purposes, but as a practical matter of Radio reception.
    They often wait until I are closer to CHA before I switch because they can't get VHF radio communications on the south-east side of CHA when you are that low. Talking about the area around Stevenson (7A6), if I fly around there then CHA can't hear me on the radio, and often out of Radar coverage also.

    Its already been discussed in this thread, but also know:
    most ADS-B IN receiver's software (e.g. ForeFlight and others) can display the location of active Ground Towers (GBT - Ground Based Transceiver) on your map. (I think you must have ADS-B OUT for this to work). That's what I did during my ADS-B validation flight, to make sure I was near the ground towers.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2019
  22. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    22,204
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    ADS-B does not require radar coverage to work. However, with the Skybeacon, which is 978-only, you will not see Mode C traffic when you're not in radar coverage, and you will not see 1090 traffic unless you're within range of an ADS-B tower.

    978 *can* still be tracked, just not all the sites do it. However, 978 does have an anonymous mode that will not transmit your tail number's particular Mode S code when you're squawking 1200, if your equipment supports it and your avionics shop set it up properly.

    How so? :dunno:

    Yes, ADS-B transmits constantly and does not require interrogation. Because the Skybeacon is only 978MHz, the only other planes that'll see you are the ones that either also have 978 or have dual band. If you're within range of the ground stations, they will rebroadcast your position on 1090 if you're within 15nm and 3500' vertically of a 1090-only aircraft. Likewise, it'll rebroadcast their position to you.

    At least in ForeFlight, you can see the towers you're receiving on In (via Stratus, Sentry, Scout, or other devices) even if you don't have ADS-B Out.