ADS-B + iPad useful for VFR flying?

EpicDraws

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Derek
I just got my private license and fly around the Bay Area. Most flights are well under 200sm. Would one of the ADS-B options like the Garmin or Stratus be worthwhile? I already have the iPad mini, and absolutely love it for both ForeFlight and Garmin Pilot. During my training I used ForeFlight, but now am trying a subscription to Garmin Pilot.

Thoughts?

Hi Derek and welcome to the forum.

I'm a flight instructor in Florida and use the XGPS150, iPad2, and foreflight. I can't justify to spend $800 for the stratus in combination with foreflight therefore, I always check the weather along my route before each flight (aviationweather.gov and http://maps.avnwx.com/).

I use my iphone 5 and foreflight mobile to get the latest metars and myradar to see the location of heavy precipitation. If you use flight following, the controllers may notify you of heavy precip and vector you around it.

Good luck with your decision.
Darren

Thanks Darren. I love gadgets, so I was leaning towards getting it, but in thinking more, I never really fly when conditions are poor or marginal (and no aspirations for an IR yet), so likely the radar will always be clear. Traffic is interesting, but it seems like I won't see much since my plane isn't ADS-B Out equipped. I know you can piggyback on commercial traffic to some extent--any idea if that would work/be useful in a very busy SFO Class B environment? There are nearly always commercial planes nearby.

I just got my private license and fly around the Bay Area. Most flights are well under 200sm. Would one of the ADS-B options like the Garmin or Stratus be worthwhile? I already have the iPad mini, and absolutely love it for both ForeFlight and Garmin Pilot. During my training I used ForeFlight, but now am trying a subscription to Garmin Pilot.

Thoughts?

Absolutely.