Adding an inclinometer

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by iamtheari, Aug 2, 2019.

  1. iamtheari

    iamtheari Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,753
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ari
    Dad's Champ doesn't have any gyros and it doesn't have an inclinometer. I know that a lot of people with similar planes just get a cheap stick-on inclinometer for a sailboat and stick it to the panel. Is there a better solution that doesn't involve serious instrument panel surgery? The panel has a spare small round opening but no spare big openings. We don't need a needle and ball, just a ball. Thanks for any tips!
     
  2. Flybuddy

    Flybuddy Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Fort Myers FL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Flybuddy
  3. EdFred

    EdFred Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    24,246
    Location:
    Michigan
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ed Frederick
    Hang a ball from a string.
     
  4. iamtheari

    iamtheari Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,753
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ari
  5. Flybuddy

    Flybuddy Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Fort Myers FL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Flybuddy
    I think if it's just an add-on with no removals that's it's allowed with an IA signoff and 337. Regular needle/ball was a common option on Champs so I would guess they are on the type certificate.
     
  6. FastEddieB

    FastEddieB Final Approach

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Mineral Bluff, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Fast Eddie B
    upload_2019-8-2_15-45-32.jpeg

    Not as cheap as I remember, but attached with double-sided tape or “super” Velcro would be legal.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. champ driver

    champ driver Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Champ driver
    If you don't need to fill an instrument hole, you can mount one in the middle with two small screw holes.
    My Champ had the big 6" one, like the one on the top in my photo, I'm switching to the one in the middle, looks period for the era.
    The one on the bottom is smaller and lighter, but more modern looking.

    Both the smaller ones were rebuilt by me, picked all the old white material out with dental picks, cleaned up the glass tubes, repainted the housings and used bath caulk to fill in from behind the tubes. I found the two on E-bay. You wouldn't believe the prices for some of these on AS & S and E-bay.

    champrebuild620.jpg
     
  8. Flybuddy

    Flybuddy Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Fort Myers FL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Flybuddy
    Just goes to show...you have to have "balls" to fly :)
     
  9. iamtheari

    iamtheari Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,753
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ari
    Balls of steel, since they’re always getting stepped on.
     
  10. unsafervguy

    unsafervguy Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,604
    Location:
    Sw florida
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bob
    337? how the hell could adding one of those ever be a major mod or repair?