ADD During Highschool

T

t.michael

Hello all!

I know this question has been asked and I have read a number of forum posts on this topic but I am still unclear on how I should proceed regarding my situation.

I was an okay student in high school and my parents thought that trying medication would be worth it so we talked to my doctor and she asked a few questions and we walked out with a prescription for Adderal. This was my sophomore year of high school and I used it for less than a year before I stopped (with doctors approval) because I didn't think I needed it. Sure enough, my grades were fine and I got into the college I wanted. I am now a sophomore at my University and my grades have been just fine.

I know that I can perform my best without medication but the FAA does not seem to take people's word for that. From what I understand they want the neuropsychological test done to prove that I am safe to fly. During my last physical, I got a note from my doctor stating I have not taken any prescribed drugs for over 2 years and I am doing just fine. I honestly think my original doctor made a bad call when she diagnosed me with ADD but oh well.

Anybody been through this before that may have some input on what I should do next?

Thank you in advance!

How old are you now?
When did you stop taking the adderal?
What have you been doing in the interim.

Yep, you were screwed badly by an inappropriate Dx and Rx. You should have a frank discussion with a good psychiatrist (that's an MD, you're going to need one anyhow in most cases because the FAA will want a report from one). You should also have a frank discussion with a good AME as to what you should do BEFORE attempting to apply for a medical.

Sounds like roughly 16yo got the ADD diagnosis, took Adderall until about 17yo, and are now about 19?

A lot of the problems now are going to be trying to reverse the diagnosis. It can be done, and it has been done, IF you don't actually have ADD.