Acceptable CAD

A

Anon

"Acceptable" CAD

I have been operating since 1997 with a SI for Class I. In March of 05 I had a stent placed in a cardiac artery the doc claimed was 90% closed. In Sep 05 I started recertification process for my class I under SI considerations. I have already done my echo, my nuclear stress test, and blood tests. I have an angiogram set for this Thursday and am concerned as to the amount of CAD that may be allowed. Somehow 50% sticks in my mind though I can't remember where I heard that number from. I don't think the cardiologist doing the cath will stent at 50%, and would like to know what is acceptable to the FAA. Does anyone have the answer?
Thanks,
Anon

Last edited by a moderator:
Re: "Acceptable" CAD

Anon said:
I have been operating since 1997 with a SI for Class I. In March of 05 I had a stent placed in a cardiac artery the doc claimed was 90% closed. In Sep 05 I started recertification process for my class I under SI considerations. I have already done my echo, my nuclear stress test, and blood tests. I have an angiogram set for this Thursday and am concerned as to the amount of CAD that may be allowed. Somehow 50% sticks in my mind though I can't remember where I heard that number from. I don't think the cardiologist doing the cath will stent at 50%, and would like to know what is acceptable to the FAA. Does anyone have the answer?
Thanks,
Anon
The term "acceptable" is misleading. 50% diameter stenosis is rarely hemodynamically significant- that is, you can sustain a 50% loss of diameter in say the left anterior descending coronary artery and still have plenty of flow distal to the obstruction to feed everything downstream. Not so at 65%.