accelerated IFR programs: when do you fly?

classicrock

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
acousticguitar
I am currently a VFR student pilot about 85% of the way toward check ride

to those pilots who have actually done an accelerated IFR Program:
as I understand, these programs will teach you to fly in marginal weather and/0r at night. yet you can't control the weather, so are most people doing the instruction(flying part) at night?

additionally how many of those pilots in this forum, completed 10+ Crosscountry flights(I picked that number, no particular reason) before starting the accelerated program?

Silly questions I'm afraid. There are way too many variable's involved such as CFII/student availability, weather, etc. Why you even ask about XCs when all you need to start is a PPC. There are XC requirements for an instrument rating during your training though. You can google that **** or look it up in FAR Part 61 (heaven forbid!). It's all there.

Last edited:
The training is done under the hood. VFR night flight and marginal VFR are still both VFR flights that can be flown as a non-instrument rated pilot. I only got about .3 actual instrument during my instrument training.

I completed over 100 hours of cross-country flights before my instrument training started. I did a semi-accelerated course for my IFR rating but it was after I had been flying for 7 years.

It is an enjoyable exercise and great success to accomplish. Getting IFR rated immediately after your private is a rough learning curve and I'd suggest learning to fly VFR a bit more before you throw all that on.

Silly questions I'm afraid. There are way too many variable's involved such as CFII/student availability, weather, etc. Why you even ask about XCs when all you need to start is a PPC. There are XC requirements for an instrument rating during your training though. You can google that **** or look it up in FAR Part 61 (heaven forbid!). It's all there.