A4A vs A4M

JOhnH

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Right Seater
Bear with me as I am a retired IT guy that converted to a small business owner. I am not a mechanic. But I did spend a few nights reading POA.

It appears that my multi year search for the cause of my high CHT problem might lie with the carburetor.

According to Pen Yan (the holder of the my upgrade STC)
I should have an O360 -A4M with a 10-5193 carb.
Instead, I have an O360 -A4A with a 10-3878 carb. This config is for a Piper and is too lean for my Cessna 172n.

When I tried to search for the differences between the A4A and A4M, all I could find was a Wikipedia article (yeah, I know), that says the main diff is that the A4A should have Bendix mags (which I have)
But the A4M should have Slick mags (which I SHOULD have).

If I change the carb on the A4A, would I need to change the mags or the timing, or anything else I am unaware of?"

Or can I just swap the carb. The guy at Pen Yan said the carb is approved for the A4A but I didn't ask him about the different mags.

I also sent an email to my A&P with the same question but he probably won't get it till tomorrow.

Bear with me as I am a retired IT guy that converted to a small business owner. I am not a mechanic. But I did spend a few nights reading POA.

It appears that my multi year search for the cause of my high CHT problem might lie with the carburetor.

According to Pen Yan (the holder of the my upgrade STC)
I should have an O360 -A4M with a 10-5193 carb.
Instead, I have an O360 -A4A with a 10-3878 carb. This config is for a Piper and is too lean for my Cessna 172n.

When I tried to search for the differences between the A4A and A4M, all I could find was a Wikipedia article (yeah, I know), that says the main diff is that the A4A should have Bendix mags (which I have)
But the A4M should have Slick mags (which I SHOULD have).