A question about popularity of 2-place monoplane form factor

HelloWorld

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Hello, world!
Hi! I'm new to general aviation, and I am working towards PPL.

I'm also interested in buying a plane, so I am studying the aircraft market also.

I think that a 2 seater would work for the vast majority of my flying needs, and therefore it would be the optimal way to go: much less fuel burn than a comparably priced 4 seater for given travel distance and time (and therefore lower cost), or much faster than a comparably priced 4 seater for a given travel distance. On the occasions when I need to carry more passengers, I could rent another plane.

But I've noticed that 2-place mono propeller airplanes are prevalent only among LSA and experimental kit, and almost absent among certified. LSA has legally imposed upper speed limit, and experimental kit requires time commitment to learn/built a plane (not to mention likely difficulty in convincing uneducated passengers to come aboard). These are rather significant disadvantages, that I may choose not to accept.

Can anyone provide some insight as to why the market has developed this way?

There are plenty of certified two place airplanes. What is your typical mission (distance, purpose, number of passengers, amount of luggage). What is you budget (acquisition and operational)?

I don't know my Liberty is a two seat ,certified aircraft. Most people believe it is LSA . By the way welcome to the forum.

Grumman Yankees were once on my short list. Pretty fast for the low horsepower, fun to fly.

There are lots of certified two place single engine airplanes out there. It is simply that they are mostly older designs. In the 30-40s there were a great deal of manufacturers building single engine two seaters. As aircraft developed, manufacturers were able to produce bigger planes more economically and customers were asking for more capability.

Cessna 120
Cessna 140
Cessna 150/152

Aeronca Chief