A little help from the audiophiles...

Morgan3820

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
El Conquistador
Short story is I found that I have some Reward points on a CC that I was unaware of. Looking through the redemption catalogue. I am trying to decide between a set of Bose Soundlink II Bluetooth wireless headset..or buy the Sony extra bass Bluetooth wireless headset with enough left over to get an ipod 7th gen mp3 player. The question are the Bose so much better than the Sony that I should give up on the ipod. At $150 I would not likely ever buy the ipod. I have a history of cheaping out and then regretting it, but if there is no real difference to my non-audiophile ears, a free ipod would be nice.

I have no first-hand experience with either product, but in my opinion Sony headphones and speakers seem to vary in quality depending on the model. Bose equipment tends to uniformly sound better to me, but the "real" audiophiles will tell you that Bose is junk and what you think sounds good is really trash.

Bose stuff tends to be bass heavy, but otherwise clean. Some of their equipment is more balanced, though. They do charge a premium for the privilege of owning their gear, but in my experience support it fairly well.

JKG

Audiophiles wouldn't recommend either of those, especially since they are bluetoothed.

Without being able to hear them side by side, I'd get the Bose, but both have good reviews.

The word "audiophile" doesn't belong in the same sentence as "iPod" or "Bluetooth headset". Mutually exclusive concepts due to the required signal compression.

Get the Sony and the iPod and enjoy the toys. The Bose is a waste of money in this case, there is only so much you can do with iPod and BT compression.

I work in the Pro Audio live event industry and in our world BOSE stands for either "Buy Other Sound Equipment" or "No highs, no lows, must be Bose" and many of the top engineers are using Sony headsets if that tells you anything.