A "flat lander" would like to fly from Florida to California.

FloridaPilot

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
FloridaStudentPilot
To fly an airplane to a buyer, (Not me personally). What is the safest way to get there in the airplane without it being too difficult. I didn't want to hijack a previous thread.

Trip is from KSPG to KSDM

Thank you!

Follow roads.

What are you flying?

I did that exact route as a complete noob after purchasing my plane in Florida and flew it home to CA. After Dallas tracked I-40 but was making a stop in Vegas. Easy Peasy.

Got to learn about Destiny Altitude first hand at a high altitude field in New Mexico on a hot day after a top off...was within performance numbers but was eye opener for sure when you are used to 1000' fpm climbs!...other then that is was a normal XC trip.

Having Foreflight and ABD-B receiver on board with real time information easily shaved a day off my trip by being able to adjust for weather conditions in real time. Had planned to track I-10 out of FL but weather pushed me up to northern GA before heading west.

Just follow I-10, take a left after Blythe.
A little simpler, follow I-10 to Casa Grande AZ (between Tucson and Phoenix), then hang a left to follow I-8 all the way to San Diego. I-8 grazes the R-areas around Yuma, so you might need to parallel it a couple of miles to the north.

Last edited: