A few questions about Austin

bigred177

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
bigred
So, my plans have taken a bit of a turn for a year and it looks like I will be in Austin for about a year. I was wondering if anyone here knew of any individuals down there willing to do a "rental" and also any lawyers who may be looking for an intern or engineering companies looking for a mechanical engineer.
Thanks

Man, a pretty broad net you're casting there. Give a few more details (as to qualifications, etc.), might be able to make some suggestions.

You do know that Austin is the Dead Zone for GA.

Well, I graduated on Saturday in mechanical engineering and was planning on attending law school this fall. But due to a massive screw up with one of my letters of recommendation, my applications didn't go out until near the end of the deadlines and schools had already filled up their classes by the time they got to my application. I am originally from Austin and know a few engineers and attorneys down there so that's why I'm planning on being there. There seem to be a few more jobs down there than up here in Lubbock. I am wanting to to I.P. law after law school so something like that would be best but would take any exposure to the law side I can get. Otherwise, I'm looking for an entry level engineering job for a year. I'm not looking to make tons of money, just want to be able to live and maybe do some flying for a year before I start my application process all over again.

The folks live up in Round Rock and Leander so I will probably find a place up north and commute into town.

I am also only a PP-ASEL with about 65hrs so that will probably limit me on what I can get as far as renting someone's plane. I have flown with Pilot's Choice out of GTU before but would prefer to try to work with an individual for maybe a little nicer plane.

I am wanting to to I.P. law after law school