A bit of a dream / itchy that feels out of reach

USAF-LT-G

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
USAF-LT-G
Ever since I left the Air Force as a Capt, I've never once been able to successfully satisfy or even get a taste for the itch to do some aerobatics. I was a comm officer who got his PPL and later an oppty to complete my MBA while selected to cross-train in a pre-selected joInt fighter UPT slot. However, and I don't regret it, I met my future wife to be at the time, whom wasn't going to marry me if I stayed in the force and the Air Force at the time "happened" to be having a "voluntary commissioned officer force reduction." So I got out and got married, had 2 kids, 2 dogs, eventually got my own company and have been flying piper Cherokees around. Life is good... But that "itch" remains.

Unfortunately, I live in northwest Illinois Chicagoland, and not only does there seem to be a lack of aerobatics / formation training, but even tail wheel training / endorsements seem few and far between. But the attitudes I keep running into.... I don't get it.

I went down with my father a year or two ago somewhere near Morris, to take my dad to a glider school he was interested in. I saw a Pitts Special sitting in the hangar, and I said to the two older gentleman talking to my dad "boy I bet that's fun to do some aerobatics in".... These guys looked at me and I kid you not I got this scowl from both of them and then they both said to me "look, we frown very heavily here upon aerobatics and do not encourage it here... You can go somewhere else if that's what you're looking for. It is not a safe practice, and it's not something we do here..."

That statement seems to be par for the course in my experience. I don't know if it's the state I live in or what, but just about every where I go, I run into the same crusty old pilots who scorn me for even inquiring. It's gotten to the point where I just hate to even bother bringing it up anymore.